1. Technology
Send to a Friend via Email
Working With Document Versions
Pt. 2: Viewing, Recovering, and Deleting Document Versions
 More of this Feature
• Creating Document Versions
 

When you store a version of your document using the versions feature, you can access previous versions, delete any of the versions stored with your document, and recover document versions to a new file.


To view a version of your document

1. Select Versions… from the File menu

2. In the Versions dialog box, highlight the version you would like to open



3. Click Open

The version of the document will open in a new window which will be tiled horizontally beneath the current document window. You can scroll through your document and interact with it as you would a normal document.

While you can make changes to the version of the document, it is important to note that the version stored in the current document cannot be altered. If you do make changes to the document, it must be stored under a new name.


To recover the version to a new document

Simply click the Save icon on the standard toolbar or use the Ctrl + S shortcut key to save the version of your document; in a previous version of a document, this is the same as using the Save As… command – the Save As dialog box will appear prompting you to give the document a new name.


To delete a version of your document

1. Select Versions… from the File menu

2. In the Versions dialog box, highlight the version you would like to delete

3. Click the delete button

4. In the pop up box, click Yes if you are sure you would like to delete the version

5. Click Close

Deleting previous versions of your document is important if you intend to share it with other users, as they will be able to view any versions included with electronic copies of your documents.



Previous: Creating Document Versions
Return to Tutorials Home


Subscribe to the Newsletter
Name
Email

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.